We use the Montessori philosophy and activities to deliver the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

The Early Years Foundation Stage E.Y.F.S.


All schools and Ofsted-registered early years providers must follow the EYFS.

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is a core governmental document, which sets statutory standards for the learning, development and care of children from birth to 5 years old. It supports a cohesive approach to early learning and care.

Ongoing assessments are at the heart of our practice. We observe your child as they interact in their play, both every day and during planned activities. We also learn from you about what your child does at home.

We use these observations to support your child, and to strengthen and deepen their current learning and development. We also identify possible areas to support and extend, using observations to plan for their next steps.

There are 7 areas of learning that the EYFS focuses on -

3 Prime Areas

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

  • Communication and Language

  • Physical development

These are fundamentally important, as they work together and support the development of the remaining 4 areas –

4 Specific Areas

  • Literacy

  • Mathematics

  • Understanding of the world

  • Expressive arts and design

These include the essential skills and knowledge for children to participate successfully in our society.

The Themes of E.Y.F.S.

Unique Child

Positive Relationships

Enabling Environments

Learning and Development



about montessori


parent information

diary dates

arrange a visit

If you would like to come and see us then please click to arrange an appointment


Back to top